Holy Cross Mts. area — crustal structure, geophysical data and general geology

Ryszard Dadlez


At the start of international seismic experiment CELEBRATION 2000 an attempt at the compilation of the present geophysical and geological data in the Holy Cross Mountains and their surroundings has been made. Five geological units of the first order and four their dividing fault zones have been distinguished in the area studied: uplifted part of the Precambrian Craton (A),  Lublin Unit (B), Radom-Łysogóry Unit (C), Kielce-Nida Unit (D), and Upper Silesian Massif (E). They are separated by fault zones: Kock Fault Zone (1) between A and B, Kazimierz Fault Zone (2) between B and C, Holy Cross Fault (3) between C and D, Cracow-Lubliniec Fold Zone (4) between D and E. The first and last units bordering the area are not discussed in this paper. Units B and C are built on the cratonic crust up to 54 km thick. Unit C is composed of poorly correlated mosaic of crustal blocks with crust 35–45 km thick. Fault zones 1 and 3 coincide with crustal fractures while zone 2 has not its counterpart in crustal structure.



Holy Cross Mountains; gravity; deep seismic soundings; crustal structure; regional geology

Full Text:



  • There are currently no refbacks.